Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/13

on October 14, 2014

IMWAYR

I’ve been checking out Jen’s blog for awhile and finally decided to join her for “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”. The basics of this is that you read and review books and link up with others and check out their blogs as well. If you want more info, check out Jen’s blog or Kellee’s blog as they are the ones took a younger approach on this. If you want to check out a more older approach, check out Sheila’s blog. For me, I will be reading two different books – one geared toward my lower readers (K-3), the other geared toward my upper readers (4-6). There are some “mature” books that are restricted to my 7th-8th graders, but my focus will be more on the “elementary” age.

Last Week:

15815400

Exclamation Mark As I mentioned last week, I read the primary nominees for the California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) to my students before we vote. This was our first book and the kids enjoyed it! It’s a great one when you’re talking about punctuation and when you would use an exclamation mark, and its pretty fun to read too.

1639901

Camp Can’t I chose this book because it is a series some of the girls enjoy in the 5th/6th grade classes, and this one featured the main character while attending a summer camp. I spend my summers working for the Boy Scouts of America at a local camp and thought I could connect in that way. Well, sure enough, several of Claudia’s tips were ones I could use as well. I mean, how many of you could use an extra toothbrush/paste while you are traveling anywhere? Or how many of you have listened to advice a friend gave and it turned out to be helpful in the end? And those are just two of the twenty tips Claudia shares while she’s trying to survive camp and be chosen as a junior counselor.

This week:

img76928

City Dog, Country Frog Book #2 in the CYRM category.

13041830921324160

Anastasia: The Last Grand Duchess, Russia, 1914 A student recently checked out another book in The Royal Diaries series for a book report, and this one caught my eye, as I am a fan of the film.

What are you reading???

ms stefun

One response to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/13

  1. Myra GB says:

    I loved the Mo Willems picturebook – Jon Muth’s illustrations were a perfect match – quite powerful in the end too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

