Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

It’s Monday! What are you reading? 10/6

on October 7, 2014

IMWAYR

I’ve been checking out Jen’s blog for awhile and finally decided to join her for “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”. The basics of this is that you read and review books and link up with others and check out their blogs as well. If you want more info, check out Jen’s blog or Kellee’s blog as they are the ones took a younger approach on this. If you want to check out a more older approach, check out Sheila’s blog. For me, I will be reading two different books – one geared toward my lower readers (K-3), the other geared toward my upper readers (4-6). There are some “mature” books that are restricted to my 7th-8th graders, but my focus will be more on the “elementary” age.

Last week:

Possum_Magic

Possum Magic My mom visited me last week. Because she has been living in Australia the last two years, I chose a book by an Australian author. When someone is invisible, what magic do you use to allow them to see themselves? That’s what Grandma Poss and Hush try to figure out in this story as they journey the country and try various food items.

71eNImy-DdL

The Hidden Stairs and the Magic Carpet This series has a decent checkout at my library. Not by any means as popular as Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Mr Putter & Tabby, but up there with Black Lagoon and Dr Seuss. I mean, what kid wouldn’t want to visit a magical place they find hidden beneath their basement stairs?

This week:

15815400

Exclamation Mark The past few years I’ve read the nominees in the primary category for CYRM (California Young Reader Medal) and then the students get to vote. Well, its that time again 🙂 I’ll be sure to do a blog post when all is said and done so you know how things went, especially since I have the older grades as well.

1639901

Camp Can’t This is another series that has a steady stream, mostly with 5-6 grade classes. And since I spend my summers working at a summer camp, seems like the perfect book in the collection.

What are you reading?

ms stefun

One response to “It’s Monday! What are you reading? 10/6

  1. Myra GB says:

    You can’t go wrong with Mem Fox. Possum Magic definitely looks great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

