Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/29

on October 1, 2014

IMWAYR

I’ve been checking out Jen’s blog for awhile and finally decided to join her for “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”. The basics of this is that you read and review books and link up with others and check out their blogs as well. If you want more info, check out Jen’s blog or Kellee’s blog as they are the ones took a younger approach on this. If you want to check out a more older approach, check out Sheila’s blog. For me, I will be reading two different books – one geared toward my lower readers (K-3), the other geared toward my upper readers (4-6). There are some “mature” books that are restricted to my 7th-8th graders, but my focus will be more on the “elementary” age.

Okay, so I’m a few weeks behind … but here I am catching up 🙂

Previous weeks …

9780892392346_p0_v1_s260x420

My Colors, My World/Mis colores, mi mundo This book I read because of National Hispanic Heritage Month starting mid-September. The colors are beautiful and with text in both Spanish and English makes it a great book for your kids that are learning English to still see the words in their native tongue as well.

106134

Bone, Vol 1: Out from Boneville One of the first graphic novels I’ve read. The characters seemed a bit strange at first, but I can see the appeal it would have to younger kids, especially those that love comics.

The_Giving_Tree

The Giving Tree In honor of Banned Book Week, I chose two books that have both been on the banned book list. The first is a favorite of mine, The Giving Tree. While it is sad the tree is cut up and is only a stump at the end, the friendship both the tree and the boy give each other is priceless and why I think it should be available for all.

Diary_of_a_wimpy_kid

Diary of a Wimpy Kid This is another book that has been on the banned book list and one that is banned from some teachers in my school for their students to check out. I can see how this could be labeled as a graphic novel, but I would actually put it in the middle of a graphic novel and a “traditional” novel. Personally, I would tell a student one graphic/diary of a wimpy kid type book, one “traditional” if I limited their choices. For reluctant readers, books like this are a great seg-way into “traditional” novels from graphic ones.

This week …

Possum_Magic

Possum Magic My mom is visiting from Australia, so I chose a book by an Australian author.

71eNImy-DdL

The Secrets of Droon, Vol 1: The Hidden Stairs and the Magic Carpet I had not heard of this series until I started at a K-8 school this school year, and this is one that has a decent stream, so I decided to check it out.

What are you reading this week???

ms stefun

Leave a Reply

