Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/15

on September 15, 2014

IMWAYR

I’ve been checking out Jen’s blog for awhile and finally decided to join her for “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”. The basics of this is that you read and review books and link up with others and check out their blogs as well. If you want more info, check out Jen’s blog or Kellee’s blog as they are the ones took a younger approach on this. If you want to check out a more older approach, check out Sheila’s blog. For me, I will be reading two different books – one geared toward my lower readers (K-3), the other geared toward my upper readers (4-6). There are some “mature” books that are restricted to my 7th-8th graders, but my focus will be more on the “elementary” age.

Last week:

willems1

Listen to My Trumpet: I’ve read other books in the Elephant & Piggie series and others by Mo Willems, and they never cease to delight me and my younger readers in the library. This particular one in the series brought an ending I wasn’t expecting and enjoyed. Even in a “children’s” book I still can’t predict the ending and I like that!

9780061583117

The Secret Crush: This was suggested by an older reader. I generally prefer to start with the first book in the series, but it has been checked out. Totally one I can see the younger girls enjoying. It had some IM conversations mixed with the story. Similar in style to the Dork Diaries series as this character also keeps a diary.

This week:

9780892392346_p0_v1_s260x420 106134

What are you reading this week?

ms stefun

3 responses to “It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/15

  1. msyingling says:

    I’ll have to pull the Wells’ books out for my 6th grade classes tomorrow. They also like the Ellie McDoodle books. K-8 is such a huge range of readers!

    Like

  2. I loved the first Mackenzie Blue! I never read the others of the series, but I would love to! Glad to hear that the sequel is good.
    Isn’t it amazing how all of the E&P books are so delightful?!?! Mo Willems is so clever.

    Happy reading this week, and I am so glad that you decided to take part in IMWAYR! 🙂

    Like

  3. Myra GB says:

    Absolutely love the Elephant and Piggie series. Bone also happens to my 12 year old girl’s favourite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

