Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/1/14

on September 1, 2014

IMWAYR

I’ve been checking out Jen’s blog for awhile and finally decided to join her for “It’s Monday! What are you reading?”. The basics of this is that you read and review books and link up with others and check out their blogs as well. If you want more info, check out Jen’s blog or Kellee’s blog as they are the ones who started this all.

Last week:
dd1-large

I asked my 4th-6th graders their favorite book, and one series that came up quite a bit was the Dork Diaries series by Rachel Renée Russell. Last week I read the first book in the series, Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life and I think this is a book/series that girls can totally relate to, especially if they are in a transition period, such as elementary to middle school, middle school to high school, or changing schools. I saw myself even now being able to see pieces of myself back during those times. It’s like Big Nate or Diary of a Wimpy Kid but with a girl’s point of view.

This week:
2136874

I asked a 3rd/4th grader to pick me a favorite book of his and this is the one he pulled. Personally I wasn’t a fan of the originally series so I’m curious how this will turn out in my mind.

ms stefun

3 responses to “It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/1/14

  1. thelogonauts says:

    Have you read any Dear Dumb Diary books? Several of my third grade girls have found that series quite humorous, even though I think middle schoolers are the intended audience.

    Like

  2. Hi there, My 4th graders really like Dork Diaries a lot. Happy reading!

    Like

  3. Myra GB says:

    My 12 year old girl was deeply into Dork Diaries – even up to now that she reads mostly longer fiction novels. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

