Tales of an Elementary Library Tech

Read on to find out how I run the library at my K-8 school site….

In the Library … Week of 8/18

on August 31, 2014

this week libraryI had read somewhere (and I wish I remember where so I could share it with you), but a librarian gave her students a stick that corresponded with a square on the reading carpet and the first few days of school I really liked the idea as my library arrangement wasn’t going to allow a spot for the kids to sit on the floor. My reading area has five groups of tables so this week I called the students in groups of five and gave them all a small TY bear

20140825_150407After a brief intro to myself including favorite books along various points in my life, we went into the weeks activity. For the kindergarten students, we read 2-3 books, one or two being from the first set below, David Goes to School and Pete the Cat and His Magic Sunglasses were read to all classes, and if they got a 3rd one, it was If You Take a Mouse to School or “L” is for Library.

61Xlid8VDuL 510aLhAJYZL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_ index

51yUEoCBzQL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

 

 

For my 1st-3rd graders, we colored and talked about how to take care of books. The coloring sheet I used is this one: http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Book-Care-Rules-Coloring-Page-and-Bookmarks-FREE-855552. In a few weeks, after CELDT testing, I’ll let the kids color a bookmark they can take with them as well.

For my 4th-6th graders, we talked briefly about fiction/nonfiction and what kind of books are in each section. I used this slideshow as a basis with talking to them (the library already had a similar picture on each section that I referenced as well): http://www.slideshare.net/sroyal/numbers-in-nonfiction

Oh, and let me share with you photos of my library, that way you have an idea of my space when I talk about stuff….

So I have two doors to enter the library. The main entrance brings you right in front of my desk. If you go to the right, you’ll see my picture book and fiction section. Behind my desk is the student computers. To the left of my desk is my seating area and nonfiction (if you go all the way to the left of the picture that shows my seating/nonfiction you’ll find my other door – that’s our “out” door when a class is visiting). Not shown here, but the wall behind me is actually all windows on the top half and the shelves below also have fiction books (I didn’t take a picture of it since its covered with computer boxes and school shirts).

picture book and fiction section

picture book and fiction section

right side of desk looking towards seating and nonfiction

right side of desk looking towards seating and nonfiction

left side of desk looking towards fiction/picture books

left side of desk looking towards fiction/picture books

seating and nonfiction

seating and nonfiction

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well, welcome to my first week of classes 🙂 Glad you could join us!

ms stefun

Leave a Reply

